2010 wrap-up

My best reads of 2010 were:
1. The Bloodstone Papers by Glen Duncan
2. The Geometry of God by Uzma Aslam Khan
3.  The Evolution of Jane by Cathleen Schine

Weirdest read:
Under the Glacier by Halldor Laxness

My blog policy is to not review books I dislike, so there’s no worst reads list. But were I to make one, it’d be dominated by YA novels, of which I read over a hundred this year. Most could’ve well been coated in phlegm–so ick-inducing were their piss-poor prose, predictable plots and passive female protagonists. The notable exceptions include Graceling by Kristin Cashore and Secret Keeper by Mitali Perkins, both of which offered beautifully crafted, intelligently conceived stories, thus simultaneously exemplifying  and transcending their YA label.

I joined 3 literary challenges in 2010, and my tally is as follows–I finished one (PoC Reading challenge), am midway through the second (Canadian Book Challenge, which ends next July), and I dropped out of one because I didn’t really feel the vibe, although it was a cause I strongly believed in. I also participated in a one-shot campaign about the Golden Age of Detective Fiction, where I reviewed Patricia Wentworth’s Miss Silver series. And in a blog tour for Uma Krishnaswami’s Out of the way!Out of the Way!, a kidlit book that hit all the right notes.

And finally: thanks to those who comment, follow, read, or pay any other form of attention to my blog–I have no idea who most of you are, but I’m very grateful that you view my work. I’d like to wish you all a very happy 2011; may the New Year find you warm/safe/drunk/loved, as per your hearts’ desires.

17 responses to “2010 wrap-up

  1. Niranjana, am glad you pointed me in the bloodstone papers’ direction—I loved the book and even went back over it to savor parts that grabbed me. I love it when I the author researches his plot so imagine my surprise when I stumbled across the pages on Jabalpur and St Aloysius. Having spent three years of my childhood in the neighborhood (I attended the sister school for girls) it was an unexpected trip down memory lane. tho’ I was too young and innocent to know of the goings-on within the school (and I hope that part was fictionalized!) it certainly piqued my interest as a reader. Other than that, there were little gems tucked away in the prose and a well-rendered storyline…all in all a delightful book. Loved his razor-edge wit and I love reading books that trace sagas over generations —-I wonder if you’ve read AS Byatt’s possessions? Anyhoo, I’m glad I “discovered” your blog this year and I’m looking forward to more recommendations in 2011.

    Have a wonderful vacation (or what’s left of it!🙂 ) and see you next year!

    Happy new year!

    • @GB: What a lovely coincidence! It makes the book special in a very personal way, doesn’t it? And i’m sure you’ll look at Jabalpur with new eyes if you ever re-visit. Oh, and I’m so glad you liked the book (I worry when people take my recommendations seriously🙂 ).
      I’m happy to have found your blog too–it adds a much needed shot of color into my day!

      Wishing you and yours a very happy 2011!

  2. Your #1 is mine as well, thanks for the inspiration, in that book and in your blog in general. There are so many book sites, most of which are so diffuse as to be nearly worthless. Yours has a definite POV, which allows me a touchstone from which to explore areas of literature which I wouldn’t have otherwise been aware of.

    Thanks!

    And I agree with your assessment of Under The Glacier- I re-read it every couple of years and I still puzzle over elements of it.

  3. I am SO glad I found your blog this year- thanks for bringing us your reviews and commentary.

    I hope you have a wonderful new year- may 2011 be filled with scintillating reads and all good things!

  4. Thanks for another year of fabulous book news! All the best Niranjana, and wishing you a terrific new year,
    Kamini.

  5. Enjoyed your blog immensely in 2010. Looking forward to more in 2011.

  6. Happy 2010 and here’s to an even better 2011! YA reads ranked lowest for me this year too. I really must stop forcing myself to read them!!

  7. I am a silent reader of your blog and i like to do the same in 2011 too

  8. I just stumbled upon your blog and really like it. I am an off-again on-again sort of blogger with an interest in writing. I am trying to find a way to automatically follow your blog, but can’t seem to find the “follow” button. Do you not have it?

  9. @ Amy : Yes. got. to. stop.

    @ Callezee: Thank you!

    @Agnija: Thanks! I looked at your blog and it seems very interesting–I hope you continue writing.
    re:following, there’s a small tab on the top lefthand, just under the blog title, that says Entries RSS. I think that should enable you follow?

    • Thanks! I do have a problem with keeping it running, it seems!🙂 I actually found a way to follow your blog via blogger. So, I am all set now!🙂 BTW, I am trying to find a library near me that carries bloodstone papers. Your post on it has certainly piqued my interest.

  10. Add “tin drum” to your list.I have never read anything like this.Very original.

Leave a Reply

