New Crayons

New Crayons is a meme started by Susan of Color Online to list new books acquired over the past week. Here’s my literary loot:

TOK: Writing the New Toronto (Book 5): Received from Diaspora Dialogues, a Toronto-based organization that supports diasporic writing. TOK is a collection of short stories and poems by writers established and emerging; contributors include M.G. Vassanji, Emma Donoghue, Nalo Hopkinson and Shyam Selvadurai as well as debuting poets and writers. The two stories I’ve read thus far are excellent, and go a long way in compensating for the depressing cover, which evokes nothing as much as council houses in England.

TOK COVER

Secret Son by Laila Lalami: Received from the author. This book, set in Morocco,  details the story of a  young man who discovers that his dead father is not just alive, but rich and powerful to boot. The premise sounds interesting–I’m always intrigued by how ordinary people react to extraordinary events. And Morocco in fiction has been a winner for me thus far, from Lalami’s earlier work  Hope and Other Dangerous Pursuits to my recent MG read,  The Lionboy Trilogy by Zizou Corder.

Secret Son

Family Fortune by Mignon G. Eberhart: From the library. I learnt about this crime writer from  A Work in Progress, part of the detective fiction challenge I participated in recently. Eberhart was apparently known as America’s Agatha Christie, and she’s almost as prolific as the latter, with over sixty novels to her name. My library has three titles, all in large print, so I suspect Eberhart is supposed to appeal to the elderly. But such generalizations are mostly bunkum anyway.

book cover of   Family Fortune   by  Mignon Good Eberhart

4 responses to “New Crayons

  1. I love the books you got! I have to look them up! They look very inviting.

  2. @ Aths: Hope you do! I’ve embarked on all three simultaneously..lets see how that pans out!

  3. I read all the Mignons my library owned when I was in high school. Although pleasant, they were indistinguishable from each other once read (hence, not really a good comparison to Christie’s work which is very memorable). I think the reason they are still available in large print is twofold – that those readers read her when new so might be pleased to find her in that section and also that her crimes are not that violent (or happen off stage). My grandmother is still an active reader at 95 but I can’t imagine her reading about serial killers.

  4. @ CLM: I just finished Family Fortune, and while it wasn’t bad (pleasant if a little tedious), I don’t think I care enough about Eberhart’s writing to try her other work.
    I think I share your grandmother’s taste regarding violence in books–not my thing either!

Leave a Reply

