Agatha Christie comics.

Each time I read an Agatha Christie novel, I’m torn between flushing the thing–hardcover and all-down the toilet, and laying out $9.99 for yet another Hercule Poirot adventure.

I love Christie’s sly, spry mysteries. I hate her snobbery and sexism and racism. The meticulous plots sometimes seem, to paraphrase Christie herself, no more than the sauce that disguises the bad fish. Her books were comfort reads for me until I could no longer ignore the discomfort I felt while reading “the best of having a native [Indian] servant” was that “they understand orders.”

The books, however,  are so much a part of my memories of adolescence that I’m loath to abandon them wholesale; if ever there was an author in urgent need of updating, it’s Christie. And so the news that her books will be released in the form of a comic strip found a warm welcome with this blogger. Here are some pictures from the series. 

Murder on the Orient Express

Hercule Poirot

(pictures from http://news.bbc.co.uk/

September 9-15 marks the annual Agatha Christie week. I’m going to re-read some of my favorites–Death on the Nile, certainly, and Lord Edgware Dies–and despatch Destination Unknown to a watery grave in the sewers of Ottawa. 

4 responses to “Agatha Christie comics.

  1. Death on the Nile is my favorite too. Perhaps it’s just the best-written one. ^__^ Liked Poirot much better than Miss Marple, btw.

    I saw the comics in Hyderabad, and wondered (without reading one in its entirety) how the reader manages to put together all of the subtle details that are no longer buried in the text; but I can’t hope that it’s all done with the visual magic of, say, The Eleventh Hour.

    (Look that last one up if you haven’t yet read it.)

  2. Hi.. I bought one of these comics recently and did not enjoy them at all..
    here is my short review of it..

    http://sathishr.blogspot.com/2007/07/recent-books.html

    Regards,
    Sathish

  3. Proud Mary Entertainment

    Hello,
    New here. Thanks

    Mary Aloe
    Proud Mary Entertainment

  4. Somebody said the following: “I hate her snobbery and sexism and racism. The meticulous plots sometimes seem, to paraphrase Christie herself, no more than the sauce that disguises the bad fish. Her books were comfort reads for me until I could no longer ignore the discomfort I felt while reading ”the best of having a native [Indian] servant” was that “they understand orders.””

    What’s racist and wrong in saying or writing or believing that yes Indians do make good servants because they do understand orders? It’s true for crying out loud.

    The whole point and role of Indians from the subcontinent and indeed coloured people in our world and precisely why God put them here on Earth is precisely so that they can work as servants and learn to follow orders. It’s always been a jolly laugh to see that non-white people had a lower role but very useful role in society and that’s the way it should have remained.

Leave a Reply

