Tag: what are you reading?

The lovely Lotus of Lotus Reads has tagged me. Thanks, Lotus!

The rules:  Grab the book that is nearest to you (no cheating), turn to page 161, post the text of the fifth full sentence on the page, post the rules and tag three people.

The book nearest to me (one that I happen to be reviewing for Eclectica) is Lydia Millet’s “My Happy Life“. Unfortunately, it is all of 149 pages…so I’m forced to look at the book lying on a chair next to the computer. That book is “Phantoms in the Brain” by V.S. Ramachandran, and the fifth sentence is:

As Arthur said over and over, “That man looks identical to my father but he really isn’t my father.”

Ramachandran is one of the world’s leading brain researchers, and inspires the sort of awe among neuroscientists that, say, Marquez does among writers. In the sentence I’ve quoted, Arthur is a patient suffering from Capgras’ delusion,  a mental condition where the patient views his closest acquaintances as impostors. Fascinating stuff…  Incidentally, Richard Powers’ brilliant novel “The Echo-maker” explores this condition in fiction, and is a must-read for those interested in the human brain– and the human heart.

The book lying next to “Phantoms in the Brain” on my study chair is “Hellboy: Weird Tales“. I didn’t pick it because it is again under 125 pages, and more importantly, I don’t think it does justice to the graphic novel to pick a sentence to represent the work.  And I shamefully confess: I thought mentioning “Phantoms in the Brain” made me sound like I’m a well-rounded person interested in science, when in reality, it is one of the three science books I’ve read since I opted for the commerce stream in class 11. 

In turn, I’m tagging three people:

Sulz from Bloggerdygook

Blue from Prettybluesalwar

Mowog from Mowogola

2 responses to “Tag: what are you reading?

  1. Totally participated. ^__^

    Hadn’t heard of Happy Life, so I looked it up on Amazon. I saw the cover and went “aww! cuuute baby!!!!” and then I read the synopsis and… well, as you know it’s not fluffy baby-themed chick lit. So I’ll be interested to read your review.

  2. Hi, Niranjana!

    Thank you for doing the meme…I am so glad you had the book on neurosciences lying closest to you…that field fascinates me so completely! I love reading about disease and other illnesses (yeah, I’m sure some people think I am morbid) especially if they affect the mind. I’ve read almost everything that Oliver Sacks has written, but it’s been a while since he’s had a new book out. I’ve read many good things about VS Ramachandran, perhaps I should pick up something he’s written. I am also making note of the Richard Powers book, thanks!

Leave a Reply

