The A to Z bookish survey

Via my favourite food blogger (and all-round star) Nupur of One Hot Stove, here’s a bookish survey that originated over at The Perpetual Page Turner.  Be sure to check out their answers, and please share your preferences in the comments if you like!

Author you’ve read the most books from:  Kidlit series authors such as Enid Blyton and Elinor M. Brent-Dyer. In more recent times, Agatha Christie.

Best Sequel Ever: Gaudy Night by Dorothy L. Sayers. I know it’s not exactly a sequel (more an example on how to up your game midway through a series), but I love it to death and beyond.

Currently Reading: Alif the Unseen by G. Willow Wilson. Social: Why Our Brains Are Wired to Connect by Matthew D. Lieberman.

Drink of Choice While Reading: Tea and coffee.

E-reader or Physical Book? Physical books, always. I do own a Kindle, but I love books as objects of beauty.

Fictional Character You Probably Would Have Actually Dated In High School: I’ve always had a thing for the Enid Blyton animal whisperer heroes. You know, like the boy who dips his hand into a jar of treacle and gentles a bunch of enraged bears. (I think he’s in Mr. Galliano’s Circus?)

Glad You Gave This Book A Chance: The Bloodstone Papers by Glen Duncan.

Hidden Gem Book: The Mapp and Lucia books by E.F.Benson. 

Important Moment in your Reading Life: Most recently, watching my son turn into a reader.

Just Finished: If You Give a Moose a Muffin by Laura Numeroff.

Kinds of Books You Won’t Read: Self-help, new-age, religious, spiritual. I won’t touch chick-lit, though I happily read romance (with the usual caveat of no douchebag hero/ T00-Stupid-T0-Live heroine).

Longest Book You’ve Read: I have lots of omnibus sets with teeny tiny print. Like this one, which comes in at 1332 pages.

chan

The longest stand-alone book is probably Atlas Shrugged, which I read as a teenager. Someone get me a Time-Turner, quick.

Major book hangover because of: Reading Phillip Pullman’s His Dark Materials trilogy in two days. 

Number of Bookcases You Own: I got rid of three bookcases and their contents for the move to California, and I also have books boxed in storage.  As with my books, my bookshelves are simultaneously too many and not enough. 

One Book You Have Read Multiple Times: William by Richmal Crompton. 

Preferred Place To Read: Bed. But I’ll read anywhere–I don’t own a purse or handbag which can’t fit a standard paperback.

Quote that inspires you/gives you all the feels from a book you’ve read:  Well, I really like “He had the look of one who had drunk the cup of life and found a dead beetle at the bottom.” — P.G.Wodehouse.

Reading Regret: I wish I were truly fluent in an Indian language so I could read original regional literature.

Series You Started And Need To Finish: None I can think of–I’m pretty obsessive about reading every book in a series if I like it.

Three of your All-Time Favorite Books: Oh, this is impossible to answer.

Unapologetic Fangirl For: Richmal Crompton, author of the Just William books.  She wrote tight, unsentimental prose about children, for children and adults. She’s written 38 books about the same character, in a very controlled setting (a small village in England), and each of the stories is magnificent. One of the best writers I’ve ever read, and definitely the funniest. 

Very Excited For This Release: I don’t track new releases, but I’m a-quiver for my library hold to materialize for The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman.

Worst Bookish Habit: Despite owning at least a hundred bookmarks, I use whatever I can find (spoons! couch cushions! Lego!) to mark my place.

X Marks The Spot (Start at the top left of your shelf and pick the 27th book): Watership Down by Richard Adams in fiction. The Other Side of Silence by Urvashi Butalia in NF.

Your latest book purchase: Mohsin Hamid’s Moth Smoke, bought last week  for a friend.

ZZZ-snatcher book (last book that kept you up WAY late): Hmmm, hasn’t happened for a while. Probably Saladin Ahmed’s Throne of the Crescent Moon last Christmas.

10 responses to “The A to Z bookish survey

  1. Thank you, thank you! I really enjoyed reading your survey, Niranjana. And you’ve now added several books to my to-read list. Thanks, I think ;)

    I have to say I share your regret in not being fluent enough in reading Hindi or Marathi- takes me way too long to read those languages so I never pick up any Hindi/Marathi books.

    • Thank you for introducing me to this one–I love reading these surveys! Taking them–not so much, but I was glad to take a stab at this one:)

  2. I am a web developer in Yewtek Solutions wanted to improve my knowledge. It is a chandigarh base web development company. Yewtek fulfill need of website in chandigarh.
    Regarding to this post, nice way is defined. Some of the tips you mention, I have read before but some excellent new ideas is this.
    Mostly i only check the web development, web designing and app development blog only but prefer to have all round knowledge.

  3. Pingback: A to Z Bookish Survey | Happy Reading. And Happy Thinking.

  4. This looked like so much fun, I decided to play along!

    - Radhika

  5. Thanks, I enjoyed that and so many of your answers could have been mine. Esp. the books you won’t read and I have the same bookmark problem!

  6. Really lots of Books….

  7. Love it! I found myself nodding at much of what you have written. I must have read all the William books a hundred times!
    And yes, Nupur is a real super star, isn’t she?